Book details

240 Pages
Publication date: October 2016
Imprint: Ecowin
Ille C. Gebeshuber

Where the Machines Grow

Bionics is a branch of science that looks to nature for ideas that can be used to develop materials, structures and processes. Years spent in the Malaysian rain forest gave physicist Ille C. Gebeshuber the inspiration for totally groundbreaking technical applications that benefit society and the environment.

Plants can be used to operate mines. Scientists have come up with dirt repellent surfaces based on cabbage white butterflies, while glass-producing algae and bacteria that create magnets could hold the key to environmentally friendly alternatives for mobile phones and computers.

These are just a few of the discoveries that have been made in recent years. The author explores the latest research findings from this intriguing field, describing her fascination with the colourful world of the jungle and the possibilities for adopting natural principles in research. In her search for solutions to the big problems of tomorrow she employs a wide variety of approaches and research methods which are always designed to ensure the various disciplines involved benefit from each other.

Author

Ille C. Gebeshuber

Ille C. Gebeshuber is one of the world’s most sought-after bionics and nanotechnology experts. Born in the Austrian province of Styria, she studied physics and has a post-doctoral qualification in experimental physics.
After spending several years as the strategic research director at the Austrian Center of Competence for Tribology in Wiener Neustadt, she taught at the National University of Malaysia from 2009 to 2015, where she found inspiration for technical applications in the jungle.
In 2016 she returned to Austria to continue her research at the Vienna University of Technology.

Ecowin wurde 2003 als unabhängiger Verlag gegründet. Wir konzentrieren uns auf spannende Autoren, die zu spannenden Themen und Entwicklungen unserer Welt einen Beitrag leisten. Die Vielfalt der Meinungen sowie der Diskurs unter den Autoren und innerhalb des Verlags sind uns viel wichtiger als das Vertreten nur einer Denkweise. Wir investieren in langfristige Beziehungen mit unseren Autoren, Herstellern und Buchhändlern. Seit April 2013 ist Ecowin eine Marke der Red Bull Media House GmbH.

Kontakt

Ecowin
Halleiner Landesstraße 24
5061 Elsbethen

Tel.: +43 0662 2240 – 0
Fax: +43 0662 2240 – 28550
E-Mail: info@beneventobooks.com
Internet: www.beneventopublishing.com

Verlagsvorschau

Wo die Maschinen wachsen

Erscheinungstermin: 08.10.2016

Mit Pflanzen kann man Bergbau betreiben. Schmutzabweisende Oberflächen sollten dem Kohlweißling nachempfunden werden. Algen, die Glas produzieren, und Bakterien, die Magnete erzeugen, sind Vorbilder für umweltfreundliche Alternativen für Computer und Handys.

Dies sind nur einige der Entdeckungen, die in den letzten Jahren auf dem Gebiert der Bionik gemacht wurden. die österreichische Physikerin Ille C. Gebeshuber holte sich jahrelang im malaysischen Regenwald Inspiration für völlig neue technische Anwendungen, die der Umwelt nicht schaden, sondern nützen. Durch ihren ganzheitlichen Zugang zur Forschung uns ihre interdisziplinäre Art, zu denken und Wissenschaftsbereiche zu verknüpfen. entstehen so konkrete Lösungen für die großen Probleme der Menschheit.

Ein Buch, das zeigt, wie viel die Menschen noch von der Natur lernen müssen.

Downloads

Cover 72 dpi

JPG, 168 kB

Cover 300 dpi

JPG, 1.01 MB

Buchdetails

ISBN-13 9783711000903
240 Seiten / 145 mm x 210 mm
Ecowin
Österreich: 24.00 EUR
Deutschland: 24.00 EUR
Schweiz: 33.90 CHF *
* unverbindlich empfohlener VK-Preis

E-Book Details

ISBN-13 9783711051585
Österreich: 18.99 EUR
Deutschland: 18.99 EUR
Schweiz: 27.00 CHF *
* unverbindlich empfohlener VK-Preis

Autor

Ille C. Gebeshuber

Ille C. Gebeshuber zählt zu den gefragtesten Experten im Bereich der Bionik und Nanotechnologie. Die Steirerin studierte Technische Physik und habilitierte sich in Experimentalphysik.
Nach einigen Jahren als Leiterin der strategischen Forschung des österreichischen Kompetenzzentrums für Tribologie in Wiener Neustadt lehrte sie von 2009 – 2015 als volle Professorin an der National University of Malaysia, wo sie sich im Dschungel Inspiration für Anwendungen der Technik holte. Seit 2016 ist sie wieder zurück in Österreich, um ihre Forschung an der TU Wien fortzusetzen.